Unrecognised – A Story for Easter

Sky Pilot

Some years ago when I was a Parish Minister, I happened on this particular occasion to be at the western General Hospital in Edinburgh visiting my new parishioners

I went to see Mrs Bloggs.  I located the ward and the bed.  “Hello, there, Mrs Bloggs, and how are you feeling today?  “Not so bad, thanks, but I’ve got a bit of pain…about here”   and she indicated her abdomen, and then proceeded to go into what I think can only be termed as very personal and indeed private, if not intimate detail about the effects of her recent surgery.

I was getting a bit hot under the dog collar by this time, and especially when she said that she would like to show me her operation scar.

“I think I’d better get a nurse, Mrs B”

“Right, DOCTOR” she answered

That’s when the penny dropped.  DOCTOR    a case of mistaken identity.

View original post 570 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under The Ramblings of a Reformed Ecclesiastic

Leave a Reply

