King is what you call me

The son of man has come

not for power or money,

but as a true servant

and give my life for many.

King is what you call me.

Wild birds have their warm nests

and the fox has its bed,

but I have nowhere safe

to rest my weary head.

King is what you call me.

I am the good shepherd

well known ‘round Bethlehem;

my sheep know my own voice,

I give my life for them.

King is what you call me.

I show love to the gracious,

give the world to the meek,

joy to the persecuted,

and peace to all who seek.

King is what you call me.

I sail with fishermen,

teach the unteachable,

break my bread with beggars,

touch the untouchable.

King is what you call me.

My realm is not this world,

for me the last comes first,

the blind shall see the light,

the deaf shall hear the best.

King is what you call me.

For those who starve and thirst,

for strangers who’re afraid,

the naked slave or felon,

all debts will now be paid.

King is what you call me.

No man robs me of life,

I give it up with love

and with my bloody wounds

I heal the human race.

King is what you call me.

Golden thrones shall totter

your proud kingdoms shall fall

but my spirit and truth

shall become all in all

Leave a comment

Filed under The Ramblings of a Reformed Ecclesiastic

Leave a Reply

