Who’s the Preacher Today?

The Meenister’s Log

When I was a divinity student, during University holidays, I would often take Sunday Services in Churches whose ministers had either left or retired – it’s known as “pulpit supply”

On one particular Sunday, I arrived at the steps of this Church at the same time as an elderly lady who was walking with a stick.

(I should point out that being a student, I wasn’t entitled to wear a clerical collar and instead was in mufti)

“May I help you up the steps?” I asked her.

“How kind, thank you”

Half way up, we stopped for a moment’s rest.

“Tell me, young man, who is the preacher today?”

“Why, it’s myself; I was here a couple of weeks ago, if you remember”

“I wonder,” she replied, “if you would help me back down the steps!”

Leave a comment

October 21, 2012 · 10:24

Leave a comment